Rd 1: 30 April–1 May International Rally of Whangarei (NZ) APRC / Pacific Cup / Junior Cup
Rd 2: 18–19 June,  International Rally of Queensland (Australia) APRC / Pacific Cup / Junior Cup
Rd 3: 6–7 August, China Rally, APRC / Asia Cup      
Rd 4: 24–25 September, Rally Hokkaido (Japan), APRC / Asia Cup /Junior Cup
Rd 5: 29–30 October, Malaysian Rally, APRC / Asia Cup / Junior Cup
Rd 6: 10–11 December, Rally of India, APRC / Asia Cup


  • APRC rallies will be all 6 rallies
  • Pacific Cup will be New Zealand and Australia
  • Asia Cup will be China, Japan, Malaysia and India (with best 3 results counting)
  • Junior Cup will be New Zealand, Australia, Japan and Malaysia
  • Production Cup will be all 6 rallies of APRC
  • As in 2015, Würth Cup will include all 6 rallies of APRC


The FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) has been recognised since 1988 as one of the premier regional championships in world rallying. Six regionscomprise the FIA regional rally championship series, with events spread across the globe. Geographically APRC covers the largest area and represents almost 40 percent of the world’s population.

Taking place in one of the most diverse regions of the world, in a climate of rapidly expanding economies, the FIA APRC continues to attract drivers and teams from across the world.

The S2000 cars of recent times have created a new level of competition, alongside some of the best Group N drivers in the region. Adding to this is the increasing number of competitors competing in the 2WD categories, which are seen as a popular and less expensive way to enjoy all APRC has to offer.

All these cars and teams feature in this exciting and exacting championship, where television audiences around the world are measured in hundreds of millions.

Each event receives extensive international television and media coverage.

On-event television news feeds and a dedicated TV series distributed worldwide ensures the APRC is viewed in more than 118 countries with an estimated average audience per event of around 58 million households.

Broadcasters include FOX Sports Asia (STAR Sports in some locations), Outdoor Channel Asia, Guangdong TV China, CCTV-5 China, DD Sports India, FoxSports Australia, and Motors-TV Europe.

Each of the six rallies of 2016 APRC has its own unique characteristics, adding to the allure of rallying in this part of the world.

From the dust and dirt of Queensland, to the rural countryside of Whangarei, to the home of  rallying in Japan, to the steaming jungles and plantations of Malaysia, the majesty of China, and the rich cultural flavour of India, APRC offers every participant something to savour.

With its diversity of climate, topography, culture, language, cuisine and history, APRC is truly a regional championship.

APRC 2015 will feature six rallies, Whangarei (New Zealand), Noumea (New Caledonia), Queensland (Australia), Johor (Malaysia), Obihiro (Japan) and Longyou (China).

Competitors can also register for the Asia or Pacific Cups. This provides an opportunity for competitors to get a “taste” of international rallying without the need to commit to the full APRC.

APRC has now moved from a primarily Group N production championship to a Class RC2 championship where S2000 cars and R4 cars compete for overall honours.

This year will see the continuation of the Production Cup, giving Group N competitors a chance to win a series. The FIA has recognised that Group N competitors mus be encouraged and have extended many homologations to cater for this. This, together with the Production Cup, will bring more competitors to the series.

The championship runs under similar competition format to the FIA World Rally Championship and is subject to regulations laid down by the FIA. These include the FIA International Sporting Code and the FIA Regional Rally Championship  Regulations, which include the APRC.

Most events follow the FIA format of a central service area with “cloverleaf” legs over 2 or 3 days. Parc Fermes are established at end of each leg or day.

Vehicle eligibility is open to all cars in the Class RC2, RC3, RC4, RC5 and RGT classes. Super 2000 cars including the new 1.6 L turbocharged cars are eligible.

Eligibility will continue to include cars nationally approved or homologated under JAF RJ and CAMS G2 categories. A further extension of this is the ability to have APRC approval to use cars that meet national rally car eligibility.

Points scoring is based on finishing order in each round to calculate overall points, using the same formula as for World Rally Championship - (25,18,15,12,10,8,6,4,2,1.

In addition, points are awarded for each leg of each event for the first seven placegetters - 7,6,5,4,3,2,1). This is known as Rally 2 (formerly SupeRally) and allows for non-finishing competitors from the first leg to restart the second and any subsequent legs. Points are awarded for each of the Cups on the same basis as the full APRC.

To be eligible for championship points, each entrant, driver and co-driver must have registered with the FIA by the closing date. The process of registration includes the requirement to nominate a minimum six events.

In recent times, the Asia Pacific Rally Championship has become more of a focus for international media with media outlets around the world seeking information and updates on what is happening in this challenging and demanding series. With this increased media attention, and the increasing popularity of motorsport in the region, this well-established championship will continue to grow.

APRC Championship Winners – Drivers
2015  Pontus Tidemand (Sweden) Skoda
2014  Jan Kopecky (Czech Republic) Skoda
2013  Gaurav Gill (India) Skoda
2012  Chris Atkinson (Australia) Skoda
2011  Alistair McRae (GB) Proton
2010   Katsu Taguchi (Japan) Mitsubishi
2009  Cody Crocker (Australia) Subaru
2008  Cody Crocker (Australia) Subaru
2007  Cody Crocker (Australia) Subaru
2006  Cody Crocker (Australia) Subaru
2005  Jussi Valimaki (Finland) Mitsubishi
2004  Karamjit Singh (Malaysia) Proton
2003  Armin Kremer (Germany) Mitsubishi
2002  Karamjit Singh (Malaysia) Proton
2001  Karamjit Singh (Malaysia) Proton
2000  Possum Bourne (NZ) Subaru
1999  Katsuhiko Taguchi (Japan) Mitsubishi
1998 Yosio Fujimoto (Japan) Toyota
1997  Kenneth Eriksson (Sweden) Subaru
1996  Kenneth Eriksson (Sweden) Subaru
1995  Kenneth Eriksson (Sweden) Mitsubishi
1994  Possum Bourne (NZ) Subaru
1993  Possum Bourne (NZ) Subaru
1992  Ross Dunkerton (Australia) Mitsubishi
1991  Ross Dunkerton (Australia) Mitsubishi
1990  Carlos Sainz (Spain) Toyota
1989  Rod Millen (NZ) Mazda
1988  Kenjiro Shinozuka (Japan) Mitsubishi
Junior Cup
2014   Michael Young (New Zealand)
2013   Michael Young (New Zealand)
2012   Akira Bamba (Japan)
2011   Akira Bamba (Japan)
2WD Cup
2014   Michael Young (New Zealand)
2013   Michael Young (New Zealand)
2012   Karamjit Singh (Malaysia)
2011   Karamjit Singh (Malaysia)
Production Cup
2015   Michael Young (New Zealand)
2014   Michael Young (New Zealand)
2013   Sanjay Takle (India
2015   Skoda
2014   Skoda
2013   Skoda
2012   Skoda
2011   Proton
2010   Mitsubishi
2009   Subaru
2008   Subaru
2007   Subaru
2006   Subaru
2005   Mitsubishi
2004   Proton
2003   Mitsubishi
2002   Proton
2001   Mitsubishi
2000   Subaru
1999   Mitsubishi
1998   Toyota
1997   Subaru
1996   Mitsubishi
Tourism and Events Queensland
Sunshine Coast Holidays
Follow Us
Facebook Twitter YouTube

2015 IROQ Review (26 min.)